Eat Where the Locals Eat!

Stewby’s Reviews

Indulge in the freshest Gulf seafood with a side of Southern hospitality at Stewby’s Seafood Shanty. From our humble beginnings in a little shanty to our four locations today, we’ve never lost sight of what matters most: making every guest feel like family.

Images From Our Reviewers

STEWBY'S Seafood Shanty IconSTEWBY'S Seafood Shanty

427 Racetrack Road Northwest, Fort Walton Beach

4.7 4,656 reviews

  • Avatar Donald Taylor ★★★★★ a week ago
    Ft. Walton/Destin is a tourist trap. Most tourist trap don't have good food and this area is no exception, so it was nice to find STEWBY'S. The staff were very friendly and polite. They obviously liked working there because they … More displayed what appeared to be genuine affection in their interactions. The restaurant was spotless.
    We tried the fried fish tacos, gumbo, fried Okra, and the fried shrimp dinner. The food was fresh and delicious. Portion size was great for the price. We definitely left there full and satisfied. I highly recommend this place!
  • Avatar David Jacobsen ★★★★★ 2 weeks ago
    Loved this place, went drive through, so didn't see the inside. The food was the bomb. The shrimp tacos were the best I've ever had, period!! I'd never tried gumbo before, so I must say it was delicious, grilled shrimp was … More excellent as well. My family and I will definitely be back.
  • Avatar scott spivey ★★★★★ a month ago
    Great spot! I guess this is the epitome of "where the locals go." The fish is always fresh, they use their own seasoning (which you can buy) and it's very good. Sides are traditional to a southern menu. Good variety of menu, … More and generous portion sizes. Also, probably the best cup of gumbo in town! Highly recommend Stewby's. Place isn't huge so expect a wait if you arrive after 5 or so, but well worth it!
  • Avatar Larry Cowsert ★★★★★ a month ago
    Stewby's is a fun, super-casual, "picnic table indoors" kind of place! So, the atmosphere is "mid-century fishing dock", which is functional and relaxed.
    The food is very good. I had a blackened grouper, which
    … More was excellent, along with some greens, a side salad, and a cup of their gumbo. Which I found to be a bit watery but very flavorful.
    Stewby's is an "order-at-the-window" kind of joint, but the staff were super friendly and liked to give it back when I joked around with them.
    A fun, casual place with very good food, served quickly and with a smile! But don't expect fast food prices. My lunch (in the picture, plus a large sweet tea) was just over $25. A fair price for what I got.
    Check out Steeby's on Racetrack in Fort Walton Beach, Florida! It's worth it.
  • Avatar Chandler Wanlass ★★★★★ a month ago
    Fish tacos were SO great! Very flavorful. We loved the fried and the grilled for different reasons. Grilled were a little more moist and the fried had a great crunch without being greasy. Can’t go wrong with either. We also loved the Shanty … More Pie.
  • Avatar Brandoux LeRoux ★★★★★ a month ago
    This place is awesome. It's very small but seems to stay very busy. Just sown the road from our air bnb, and we were in the mood for something quick and simple to eat before our activities for the day. I'm glad we stopped here. … More
    I had the fish tacos with whatever the fish of the day was. They were amazing 👍
  • Avatar adrian villanueva ★★★★★ 2 months ago
    Love their shrimp fried Tacos and fries combo. Been coming for a few weeks and can't get enough of it. I am still yet to taste more of their great food. I will do a following review as i taste other foods in their menu.
  • Avatar Joseph Gallo ★★★★ 3 months ago
    Excellent seafood and prices the locals appreciate. I had the grilled colossal shrimp and a friend had grilled fish of the day (Amber Jack). The dinners came with sides and hush puppies. Terrific seasoning and flavor. Recommended.Food: … More 5/5  |  Service: 5/5  |  Atmosphere: 3/5Recommended dishes
    Grilled Fish, Fresh Seafood …More
  • Avatar Ben May ★★★★★ 3 months ago
    This was our first time there and we loved it. My wife has a pepper allergy and they stayed on top of that! Our food was delicious and the service was great.Food: 5/5  |  Service: 5/5  |  Atmosphere: … More 5/5Recommended dishes
    Seafood, Grilled Fish, Fried …More
  • Avatar Pamela Bohrer ★★★★★ 3 months ago
    This place is great!! We had soft crabs, potato salad, and greens. My husband also had a side of gumbo. Everything was fantastic!!!!!!! The young lady at the register was so helpful! She gave us suggestions., boy am I glad we went with … More her suggestions!! We will definitely be back. We want to try the fried oysters next time.
  • Avatar Louise Noeth ★★★★★ 3 months ago
    No fuss place. They put the money into the food and provide basic seating to keep pricing reasonable for hungry folks who crave seafood.Food: 5/5  |  Service: 5/5  |  Atmosphere: 5/5Recommended dishes … More
    Seafood, Fresh Seafood
    Parking space
    Somewhat difficult to find parking
    Parking options
    Free parking lot …More
  • Avatar Riley Shelnutt ★★★★★ 3 months ago
    Yes, it is a shanty and you order at a window. But the food is spectacular and as affordable as any seafood you can find. Very highly recommend and well worth a trip.Food: 5/5  |  Service: 4/5  |  Atmosphere: … More 4/5Recommended dishes
    Seafood, Fried, Fresh Seafood, Grouper …More
  • Avatar Gabriela Richardson ★★★★ 3 months ago
    Yummy. Greens were really good. Fried shrimp was so tasty. Place was clean, friendly staff. I would recommend this place. Food was fresh and hot.Recommended dishes
    Fried Okra, Seafood, Fresh Seafood …More
  • Avatar Shaggygoblin ★★★★★ 3 months ago
    Every time I go past on my way to and fro, Stewby's is packed. I was asking Google to take me to a big fish sandwich, and it took me past Stewby's to CapnDs. Why not, I have time to kill today.Captain D's is dead to me now.4 … More stars on food because they discontinued cornbread.I love cornbread with seafood and BBQ.Dae and Ellis were absolutely amazing in sorting this 'first-timer'.Parking: Parking extends to gravel lots behind restaurant.Wheelchair accessibility: Wheelchair ramp at the rear.
  • Avatar Alexandra ★★★★★ 3 months ago
    Food was AMAZING! This is my favorite place to get seafood as a local !!! I wish they had one in destin but this location was great. Clean and good service. My favorite is the mahi mahi sandwich !!!
  • Avatar Patty Whetsel ★★★★★ 3 months ago
    Quaint little seafood place that has quality food for an affordable price! Take a break from the over priced tourist traps and visit Stewby's which feels like a friendly neighborhood eatery.Food: 5/5  |  Service: … More 5/5  |  Atmosphere: 5/5 …More
  • Avatar Dabe B ★★★★★ 4 months ago
    I'm an out of town occasional diner. I always visit Stewbys because the food is always good. I recommend the grilled Mahi Mahi, grilled Amberjack, and grilled Colossal Shrimp. Their fried Mullet is good if you don't mind a slightly … More fishy taste. If you're lucky enough to find Snapper on the menu, it's worth the price. If you haven't tried fish tacos, Stewbys are really tasty. Green beans, slaw, seasoned fries, and colards are all good side choices. Today, I tried their onion rings. I will be ordering those again soon. The fried okra is another great selection. My wife and I sometimes split a Shanty Pie to top our meal off. The sweet tea is good.Many times, it's crowded. The diners have always been friendly and willing to share their table. There are some picnic tables around back which we enjoy when the weather is comfortable.
  • Avatar Abby Chancey ★★★★★ 4 months ago
    Always hot, fast, and delicious! We especially love the grilled shrimp but the mahi or amberjack sandwich are favorites too!Recommended dishes
    Snapper, Seafood …More
  • Avatar Javier Lopez ★★★★★ 4 months ago
    1st time eating at this amazing restaurant, and we were 1000% satisfied with the food, portions, and the atmosphere! Will absolutely recommend to any one who wants delicious seafood!!Food: 5/5  |  Service: 5/5  |  A … Moretmosphere: 5/5Recommended dishes
    Popcorn Shrimp, Seafood, Fried
    Parking space
    Plenty of parking
    Parking options
    Free parking lot …More
  • Avatar vanessa peay ★★★★★ 4 months ago
    Ordered the fried chicken tender dinner with coleslaw and potato salad and the food was fresh, hot and delicious! My husband got the fried shrimp dinner with fries and baked beans and he really liked it. And he’s not really a big seafood … More person! The food here did not disappoint and we look forward to coming back and trying other meals on the menu.
  • Avatar Milady Cynthia Marie ★★★★★ 4 months ago
    Service Dog friendly. Handicap accessible. GREAT staff. Alas, no delivery yet wonderful pickup and dining roomFood: 5/5  |  Service: 5/5  |  Atmosphere: 5/5Recommended dishes
    Seafood Shanty, Seafood,
    … More Fried, Seasoned Fries
    Parking space
    Plenty of parking
    Parking options
    Free parking lot, Free street parking …More
  • Avatar Dave Grossnickle ★★★★★ 4 months ago
    Great food! Lunchtime was a little noisy and that made it hard to hear when your order was ready. I will most likely eat here again.Food: 5/5  |  Service: 4/5  |  Atmosphere: 4/5Recommended dishes … More
    Seafood …More
  • Avatar Becca H. ★★★★★ 4 months ago
    Customer service was excellent! Ms. Faye is so sweet and friendly. Food was very good and reasonably priced. Will definitely be back.Food: 5/5  |  Service: 5/5  |  Atmosphere: 5/5 …More
  • Avatar Mylene Morrison ★★★★★ 4 months ago
    I really loved their fried flounder. The hush puppies were crispy and light. Price was reasonableFood: 5/5  |  Service: 5/5  |  Atmosphere: 5/5Recommended dishes
    Fried Okra, Fried …More
  • Avatar Tatyana G. ★★★★★ 4 months ago
    Consistently good seafood. Didn't have bad experience here yet. Customer service is pleasant. Will be back.Food: 5/5  |  Service: 5/5  |  Atmosphere: 5/5Recommended dishes
    Fried Okra, Side Popcorn
    … More Shrimp, Seafood, Grilled Fish, Fried, Grouper
    Parking space
    Plenty of parking
    Parking options
    Free parking lot …More
  • Avatar Lois Helland ★★★★★ 4 months ago
    Loved this place. We placed our seafood order at the counter, and they served it hot and tasty!Food: 5/5  |  Service: 5/5  |  Atmosphere: 5/5Recommended dishes
    Seafood, Fresh Seafood …More
  • Avatar R Mack ★★★★★ 5 months ago
    Grouper sandwich is fantastic! I request the fries WITHOUT their seasoning which I find too strong & salty. A must try… I keep going back!Food: 5/5  |  Service: 3/5  |  Atmosphere: 4/5Recommended … More dishes
    Grilled Fish …More
  • Avatar Shawna Wells ★★★★★ 5 months ago
    We LOVE Stewby’s! Their food is delicious and reasonably priced. As a local, this is almost always our go to for seafood. 🤤
  • Avatar Keith Andes ★★★★★ 5 months ago
    Quick food not fast food. Delicious, great prices. Very convenient place if you need to grab a quick mealFood: 5/5  |  Service: 5/5  |  Atmosphere: 5/5Recommended dishes
    Hush Puppies, Fish of the
    … More Day Tacos, Grouper …More
  • Avatar Randy Brown ★★★★★ 6 months ago
    I purchased the combo plater.The food was cooked to perfection.We will be visiting this wonderful family owned restaurant.Food: 5/5  |  Service: 5/5  |  Atmosphere: 5/5 …More
  • Avatar Janice Faust ★★★★★ 6 months ago
    I absolutely love eating here when I visit my daughter in Florida. The food here is one of the highlights of my vacation. The food is great. Everything I have eaten here is fresh and delicious. The atmosphere is lively and fun. The whole … More experience is outstanding in every way!Food: 5/5  |  Service: 5/5  |  Atmosphere: 5/5Recommended dishes
    Fried Okra, Key Lime Pie, Hush Puppies, Seafood, Grilled Fish, Fried, Fresh Seafood …More
  • Avatar Ronald Benner ★★★★★ 6 months ago
    Outstanding, visiting from Michigan and we found this place. Restaurant help were great. Sides were top notch. The grilled shrimp and my wife’s fish tacos were also fantastic. Do yourself a favor, check this place out. You will not be disappointed.Food: … More 5/5  |  Service: 5/5  |  Atmosphere: 5/5Recommended dishes
    Hush Puppies, Seafood …More
  • Avatar PCK ★★★★★ 6 months ago
    Must try the sample platter with fish and shrimps. I had similar dishes at more high-end restaurants and Stewby"s is the best of them all.Food: 5/5  |  Service: 5/5  |  Atmosphere: 5/5 …More … More
  • Avatar Amber W ★★★★★ 6 months ago
    Lady behind the counter was very helpful and answered any questions we had, which we had a ton of. Their grilled shrimp are the best I have ever had. Their homemade tarter sauce is very good along with hush puppies and coleslaw.Wheelchair … More accessibility: They have a good wheelchair accessible ramp
  • Avatar Sandra Nunya ★★★★★ 6 months ago
    This is NOT fast food, it is real food made fast. Best calamari I have had in years!!! Cole slaw is fresh and tasty and french fries here hot crisp and seasoned just right.Food: 5/5  |  Service: 5/5  |  Atmosphere: … More 5/5Recommended dishes
    Seafood, Fried …More
  • Avatar Brian Jacobs ★★★★★ 7 months ago
    You know you're in the right place when you walk in the door. The sound of people enjoying a metal with friends fills the air. A simple counter service menu board hangs over the order window, where a courteous cashier greets you with … More a smile and a little southern charm.Fresh local seafood, fried, grilled or blackened paired with your favorite southern style sides and a sweet tea. What's not to love.It's no wonder this is a local favorite.
  • Avatar MSB Management ★★★★★ 8 months ago
    New to the area and this place was highly Recommended. For how busy this place to be so busy this place is the service is top tier.Food was amazing and the sweet tea was even better. No matter the time of the day the food is still fresh!Parking: … More Tight parking but enough
  • Avatar John E Freeman ★★★★★ 8 months ago
    Whenever I have friends in from other parts of the country I make a point of bringing them to Stewby’s. They always want to come back. Prices are better than Destin and, to me, the quality is just as good if not better. We need more like … More this!!!!Parking: Since the addition of the back lot there is plenty of parki vWheelchair accessibility: Their ramp for wheelchairs is wide but slightly steep due to lack of available area.
  • Avatar Mark Conneway ★★★★ 9 months ago
    This place was great to eat. Fast seafood, delicious fish and sides, hometown feel and reasonably priced. Freezing inside though!
  • Avatar Stina A ★★★★★ 9 months ago
    Love the shrimp tacos and French fries! They give you a generous amount of shrimp which is nice.
  • Avatar shanysa holgerson ★★★★★ 9 months ago
    Really enjoyed this place. The food was great, the seating was comfortable and they even have AC inside. Once we move this way we're definitely going to be coming here more often!
  • Avatar Edward Barlow ★★★★★ 10 months ago
    I have been to two of their locations and each time the food was delicious. The fish taco is a go to. They also have fish of the day that is never a bad choice.Walkability: There is a ramp on the side of the building and stairs in the front. … More There is also a driver through.
  • Avatar Erin Delaney ★★★★★ 10 months ago
    Vacationing in Navarre and picked Stewby’s for our one eat out meal and lemme tell ya, not a disappointment. Best fish/fish tacos, fries and fixings. All five of us thoroughly enjoyed everything. 10/10 would recommend-thank you!Food: 5/5  |  … More; Service: 5/5  |  Atmosphere: 5/5Recommended dishes
    Hush Puppies, Seafood, Grilled Fish, Fried, Fresh Seafood, Grouper
    Parking space
    Plenty of parking
    Parking options
    Free parking lot …More
  • Avatar Meghan S ★★★★★ 10 months ago
    BY FAR THE BEST STEAMERS WE’VE EVER HAD!!!!!! We ordered the family size for 4 of us, and added 1/2lb and it was perfect! We probably could’ve gotten away with just the one, but our kids are crab heathens! There was so much flavor to everything, … More and the shrimp were huge!! Worth every penny! Definitely will be back when we visit again!
  • Avatar Meagan S Elder ★★★★★ 11 months ago
    By far one of the best seafood restaurants in Fort Walton Beach! Food is always delicious and fresh!! Service is always excellent!! Recommend everyone to go here! Only downfall is small dining, most times I have to get it to go or eat outside. … More Wish it was a bigger restaurant.Food: 5/5  |  Service: 5/5  |  Atmosphere: 5/5 …More
  • Avatar Darren Keithley ★★★★★ 11 months ago
    Don't be fooled by this little place, they put out some big flavors and excellent food; I LOVE going here every time I'm in town!! I would highly recommend going, and their fish is seasonal and fresh.Food: 5/5  |  Service: … More 4/5  |  Atmosphere: 4/5 …More
  • Avatar Erik Calderon ★★★★★ a year ago
    Visiting my daughter at the Elgin Air Force base, we were looking for a good seafood restaurant. We saw that Stewbys had some good reviews and decided to try it. We ordered the grilled grouper, hush puppies, fried oysters, fries okra, thee … More gumbo soup, potato salad, coleslaw, and French fries. For desert we got the banana pudding.
    Stewby’s did not disappoint. The three of us finished everything! It was delicious. I highly recommend this place.
    It was a bit expensive but well worth every dollar spent.
    They have plenty of seating inside and outside. They also have a drive thru if you want to pick and go.
  • Avatar Henry Eicher ★★★★★ a year ago
    Great little place to eat lunch. Eat in or take it to go. There is a drive thru.I had the grouper samwich. Excellent samwich! My friend had the fish tacos and hushpuppies side. Another excellent choice! Finished with the shanty pie. Their … More name for the key lime pie. Very good pie. You have to order at the window. The cooking staff is very efficient. Food came very quickly despite the crowd of people that came in. Restrooms are clean. Picnic table style seating. Clean establishment.Would strongly recommend!
  • Avatar Paul Brinkman ★★★★★ a year ago
    Recommended by locals, Stewby's is a delight. With two locations in Ft. Walton Beach, you'll enjoy delicious food, friendly service, and a casual coastal vibe. Great menu with daily specials. The side dishes are all first-rate … More and we've tried them all. And don't forget dessert. Dine on site, inside or picnic-style, or take out. Your first visit won't be your last.
  • Avatar Tom Llewellyn ★★★★★ a year ago
    This was a great little seafood joint with tasty fresh seafood and delicious sides.Service was great. I couldn't pick and had Cody order for me. I ended up with a two entree combo that was delish!The fried shrimp was perfect, with … More a just firm enough texture. Fish was well seasoned, accenting, not overpowering, the fish's flavor. I really enjoyed the green beans and potato salad, also.Be aware that there are three locations and the steamers are not available at this, the original, location.
  • Avatar Nabil Ahsan Noor ★★★★★ a year ago
    We liked the inside of the restaurant. Charming as a place if you want to have a cozy dinner.We took a flounder grilled, with some sides.Food was good. Our order was taken by Briana, great lady helping us choosing a nicemeal! Definitely … More would recommend!
  • Avatar Javan McCain ★★★★★ a year ago
    No complaints.. nice local seafood joint in the heart of the city, rather than having to drive to the beach and even Destin.. my go to is the Grilled Fish Dinner with Cheese Grits and 1 of 3 sides.. either Fried Okra, Seasonal Vegetables … More or Beans.. annnnd.. for desert the Banana Pudding is a MUST!!Recommended dishes
    Fried Okra, Grilled Zucchini, Key Lime Pie, 2 Fish Tacos, Fish Dip, Seafood, Grilled Fish, Fried, Fresh Seafood …More
  • Avatar Ms. Dee ★★★★★ a year ago
    I live in Ohio, so EVERYTIME I am in, Fort Walton Beach, I have 2 have Stewby's! This is my 1st time visiting the Racetrack Rd location & this 1 is my go 2 from now on!!! Santa Rosa is great as well, but this 1 is closer 2 the … More airport so I can take some home with me & not risk missing my flight, lolFood: 5/5  |  Service: 5/5  |  Atmosphere: 5/5Recommended dishes
    Grilled Fish, Fresh Seafood …More
  • Avatar chip q ★★★★★ a year ago
    Really great place, very casual atmosphere. Extremely affordable fresh seafood. Walk up order and pickup food. My wait was not long at all. Daily specials as well. Wish I could rate it 10 stars
  • Avatar Gilbert Maldonado ★★★★★ a year ago
    Very clean, fast, and friendly service. For was great with good portions and great sides too choose from.Food: 5/5  |  Service: 5/5  |  Atmosphere: 5/5Recommended dishes
    Seafood, Grilled Fish, Fried,
    … More Fresh Seafood …More
  • Avatar Kathy Belt ★★★★★ a year ago
    Food is fantastic, price is great! I got way more food than I could finish for $12. Best fresh seafood I’ve had since I moved here.
  • Avatar Paul Barber ★★★★★ a year ago
    Excellency food and promptly prepared. Very easy going laid back restaurant semi fast food place
  • Avatar Eilsel Peterson ★★★★ a year ago
    If you are looking for seafood and tired of the long waits for it then look no further than here. They are not fast food but it is quick to get to you versus the usual 15-25 minute wait
  • Avatar Sheila Rypkema ★★★★★ a year ago
    Excellent food and service! Clean dining area and plenty of parking.
  • Avatar Oreide Ediero ★★★★★ a year ago
    Stewby's was a nice place to eat. I ordered the softshell crab dinner with seasoned fries and baked beans. I also ordered a large gumbo to go.The crab was seasoned and fried to perfection and the fries were delicious. I cannot comment … More on the beans as they were missing from my order. However, the Gumbo was very tasty and left me wishing I had ordered more...Worth the price paid: Yes.Parking: Seemed to be plenty of parking.
  • Avatar Walter Geiger ★★★★★ a year ago
    I stand corrected about Okra. In the South last 20 years every experience I had eating Okra I thought I was eating wood. Stewby's taught me when prepared fresh Okra taste has a good flavor I compare to zucchini. Now for the Fish of … More the Day dinner pictured. I watched as it was cooked to order including the fries. Grilled Amber Jack was delicious. Those traveling through ad locals looking for a clean meal, Stewby's is worth your time and money.
  • Avatar Sylvio Borges ★★★★★ 2 years ago
    Delicious! It’s a real shanty! Has local caught fish and can be cooked any way you want it. You can either get the fish of the day or upgrade to a more premium fish. It also includes a drive through and is able to accommodate almost … More any complicated order. The staff is friendly and welcoming. This in another staple of Fort Walton Beach. They have two locations one in racetrack rd and the other on the island with the exact same menu. Prices vary for dinner at about $14 and up without a drink. Very much worth the experience.
  • Avatar QZO 14 ★★★★★ 2 years ago
    I am hooked after one visit...ok two. My taste buds made me come back a second time the next day. The staff is so friendly. The food is off the chain! The first night we had grilled chicken, cheese grits and fried; grouper, beans and … More cheese grits. The second day I had the kids meal grilled shrimp. My taste buds were jumping for joy. I didn't mention the Georgia peacan cornbread and Shanty pie. Although this is a popular place, stop by there and check them out and enjoy!
  • Avatar Ryan S ★★★★★ 2 years ago
    Everything was delicious...from the fish to the coleslaw. Even the tartar sauce was good. We ordered the fish of the day (amberjack), one fried and one grilled. The seasoning on the grilled fish was absolutely delicious. I actually … More preferred the fried because it let the fish flavor through. The sides were all good. The person I ate with came here years ago and was still just as impressed. This is a go-to place.
  • Avatar Tracy Davis ★★★★ 2 years ago
    The baked beans, french fries, cheese grits, and fried shrimp were amazing. The best hush puppies I've ever had.Now that I've had fried oysters I don't think I need to have them again. The fried fish and chicken were normal. … More Wish the dinner came with more cocktail sauce, it only had one small container.The salads were basic, but a welcome balance to the heavy fried dinner.
  • Avatar C Dub, Jr ★★★★★ 2 years ago
    Came here on recommendation of a friend years ago. I've stopped by every time I've been in the area. I had the soft-shell crab sandwich, which was fantastic. It's worth the drive to FWB. They have a location in Santa Rosa … More but we like this one. They have a drive-thru that wraps around the back and limited parking. There is additional parking behind Stewby's. Do not park next door at the pool store, they WILL tow your vehicle. They have a long bench out front where you can eat or wait for your order and they have additional tables behind the place to take your meal. They also have a wheelchair-accessible ramp around back. It's a popular place, when we went it was around 2:30 so it was calm but during lunch it is busy and you are expected to share your table since the place is small. Delicious and worth it. The bathrooms are about 4 ft from the tables and the doors swing out, make sure to lock the door. I had the colossal shrimp with potato salad and cheese grits. The shrimp were lightly breaded, which was great! I hate it when I order breaded shrimp and it's all breading and no shrimp. If i wanted that much bread, i would've just eaten an entire loaf. The potato salad was delicious, also. It reminded me of Honeybaked Ham Co's baked potato salad. I loved the grits, as well. There was also amberjack that was ordered and that was quite tasty. They never disappoint.
  • Avatar Brian Anderson ★★★★★ 2 years ago
    One of the few restaurants that you can go to twice in one day and still be happy! The seafood was fresh, the cheesy grits were delicious, and the staff was nice and fast. If you haven't tried Georgia cornbread, you're in for … More a real treat.
  • Avatar Shana Hoy ★★★★★ 2 years ago
    Words can not even begin to describe how delicious everything was at Stewby’s! We only got photos of the fish tacos and the okra because the rest of it was so good we ate it before we could take photos of it! The smoked tuna dip was some … More of the best we’ve ever had and the gumbo literally made me tear up because it was so much like my grandmother used to make.Pimala convinced us to try the tuna dip and we are so glad she did! All of the staff was so friendly and knowledgeable about how fresh everything is… seriously, RUN, don’t walk to Stewby’s… absolutely a new favorite spot for us.
  • Avatar Travis Lynch ★★★★★ 2 years ago
    Such great food. You can tell this is a Locals hangout rather than a tourist spot. We've been here twice now and it just keeps getting better!!!
  • Avatar Janet Andrews ★★★★★ 3 years ago
    This place is fantastic! The grouper was phenomenal! The collard greens were just like grandma would make and they weren't afraid to put the cheese in the grits! Totally worth the drive from 2 counties away!
  • Avatar Denise Esparza ★★★★★ 3 years ago
    We ordered through the drive though & ate in the porch tables out back.Chicken tenders for the kids, grilled chicken with potato salad and the seasonal cucumber salad for me and popcorn shrimp, cole slaw, and potato salad for my friend.We … More also had key lime pie.EVERYTHING was delicious and tasty. Portions were great- we are all happy campers. The employees are so PLEASANT- from the drive through, check out and when we went inside to get the pie.
  • Avatar Jacob Burns ★★★★★ 3 years ago
    Some of the best fried seafood you can get at an awesome price! Quick and friendly service just made it even better! 10/10 would definitely recommend to anybody in the area looking for a good meal!Pictured is the Stewby's Platter consisting … More of fried shrimp, oysters and fish of the day along with hush puppies, fried okra and fries.
  • Avatar K O ★★★★★ 4 years ago
    Best seafood!! My family loves this local joint- this is a must eat when we are on vacation. My favorite is the colossal shrimp, and hush puppies! Catch of the day changes daily- I have had the blackened mahi and it was delicious. We will … More definitely keep visiting and recommend to anyone looking for good local seafood!
  • Avatar Niecey Rogers ★★★★★ 5 years ago
    This is truly a diamond in the rough! My husband is leery of all these little places i find through Google reviews ... but he’s been game so far! He looked a little nervous when we approached this no frills kinda place with a few picnic … More tables and an inside that looks like an outside ordering window. My first clue that it was amazing, other than Google reviews, was the huge bench outside for people to sit while they wait. It literally has protection poles in front of it. There was no where to sit inside, even though it was late for dinner; that was my second clue this place was going to be good! I ordered the Mutton Snapper because it was fresh, but all their fish is fresh, and he ordered the shrimp and fish plate. All the sides were awesome and the fish was melt in your mouth goodness! The fish Samwiches have coleslaw on them and that was a fabulous touch! The Hush Puppies were the bomb doggity and I would definitely order them again! We plan to eat there again before we leave, for sure! Get in and wait on a picnic table while you can .... this little corner restaurant, mom and pop local style place is definitely one to visit while you’re here!
  • Avatar Ashlee Aiello ★★★★★ 5 years ago
    We were visiting from out of town, and this place just had the most amazing food. We particularly loved the soft shell crab and fried oysters. Seating can be limited but opens up quickly. We would LOVE to have one close by. SO GOOD. We … More will definitely be back if we are ever in the area again.

View All of Our Google Reviews

Stewby’s Store Locations

STEWBY'S Seafood Shanty
Racetrack Road
(850) 586-7001

427 Racetrack Rd NW
Fort Walton Beach, FL 32547

(850) 586-7001

  • Monday: 10.30am – 8.30pm
  • Tuesday: 10.30am – 8.30pm
  • Wednesday: 10.30am – 8.30pm
  • Thursday: 10.30am – 8.30pm
  • Friday: 10:30am – 9:00pm
  • Saturday: 10:30am – 9:00pm
  • Sunday: 10.30am – 8.30pm

235 Santa Rosa Blvd
Fort Walton Beach, FL 32548

(850) 374-3765

  • Monday: 11:00am – 8:30pm
  • Tuesday: 11:00am – 8:30pm
  • Wednesday: 11:00am – 8:30pm
  • Thursday: 11:00am – 8:30pm
  • Friday: 11:00am – 9:00pm
  • Saturday: 11:00am – 9:00pm
  • Sunday: 11:00am – 8:30pm

4120 S Ferdon Blvd
Crestview, FL 32536

(850) 331-3304

  • Monday: 10:30am – 8:30pm
  • Tuesday: 10:30am – 8:30pm
  • Wednesday: 10:30am – 8:30pm
  • Thursday: 10:30am – 8:30pm
  • Friday: 10:30am – 9:00pm
  • Saturday: 10:30am – 9:00pm
  • Sunday: 10:30am – 8:30pm

231 Santa Rosa Blvd
Fort Walton Beach, FL 32548

(850) 226-8448

  • Monday: 11:00am – 8:00pm
  • Tuesday: 11:00am – 8:00pm
  • Wednesday: 11:00am – 8:00pm
  • Thursday: 11:00am – 8:00pm
  • Friday: 11:00am – 8:00pm
  • Saturday: 11:00am – 8:00pm
  • Sunday: 11:00am – 8:00pm